top of page
  • Writer's picturetortoise7a

Looking back on Climbing in the Climbing Paradise of Kalymnos, Greece 🇬🇷 Accommodation 🏠 Topo 📚

Updated: May 12, 2022

Kalymnos is a small island in the Aegean Sea, which is the fourth largest island in the Dodecanese. Kalymnos sponges are very famous.


For climbers, Kalymnos is a paradise 😍 There are plenty of limestone climbing sites and more than 3,400 sport routes.


sector Kalydna, Kalymnos
sector Kalydna, Kalymnos

I went climbing alone to Kalymnos during my late summer vacation in 2014.


Before I left, I was worried if I would be able to climb (or find climbing partners) in Kalymnos alone, but everyone was warm and welcoming 😃


The first day I went to the climbing area without an appointment and looked for a partner on the spot. On other days, I used the website 👉🏻 CLIMBING PARTNER NEEDED!

I guess it depends on the season, but I found that there are more climbers who come to kaymnos alone or looking for partners than I expected.


sector SIKATI CAVE, Kalymnos
sector SIKATI CAVE, Kalymnos

The downside of climbing with new people is that there is more risk than when climbing with a group of like-minded climbers.

Personally, I had no complaints about the climbers I met this time. However, when talking to them, it seems that some of them do not belay well.


The beauty is that you can meet climbers from many different countries. This time I made friends with climbers from France, Sweden, Finland, Canada, Italy, and Norway.


I enjoyed listening to their stories about climbing, economics, life, and many other topics.


At first day I didn't know anyone at all, but after about a week, I started to meet people I knew when I walked around town.


Then the chain of acquaintances of acquaintances spread, and I was in a state of "uhhhh, who was it 🤔” 😂


Climbing Guidebook Kalymnos

Climbing Guidebook

You can find the topo at any store in Masouri or website 👉🏻 climb Kalymnos Kalymnos climbing guidebook (2019 Edition)


My topo is old (2010), but a revised version was released (2019 Edition).


There are some new routes that are not listed in the topo, so it is recommended to check the website (Kalymnos New Route List June 2014) and print it out. If you forget your pudding, you can buy it at the store in Masouri (5€).


Climbing Equipment

・single rope 80m

・14-20 quickdraws

Depends on the route you want to climb....


I think the route I tried was maximum 14qds (not including the end point) 🤔 There were often two carabiners at the end point. Of course not on all routes.


sector Grande Grotta, Kalymnos
sector Grande Grotta, Kalymnos
Approach

From Masouri, the popular areas of Grande Grotta and ODYSSEY can be reached on foot.


Telendos Island is accessible by boat, but it is only a 10-minute walk from Masouri to Myrties Harbour.


Other areas are accessible by bike, car....


sector Spartacus, Kalymnos
sector Spartacus, Kalymnos
Season & October Climate

The best months for climbing are October, November, April, and May. During this climbing tour (2014.10.11 - 10.20), it was hot when the sun shone (<25°C), but a little chilly in the shade.


I wore a fleece when belaying. The time of climbing depends on the area, but I recommend climbing in the morning (before about 2pm). In the afternoon, many areas are exposed to the sun.


Telendos Island sector Pescatore, OTR (7a)
Telendos Island sector Pescatore, OTR (7a)
About the Climbing Routes

The routes on Kalymnos are relatively well bolted and I found the grades to be more lenient than the topo description. I think this is a consideration to prevent accidents as much as possible, since climbing is a way of making a living on this island. Among the numerous routes, I recommend trying the ones that appeal to you, regardless of grade.

Kalymnos Accommodation

🏠 Accommodation
Pantelis Studios

I sent about 10 emails around mid-August and only got about half of the responses. They all said they were full until the end of October. Only Pantelis Studios was available (20€/day).


This seems to be due to the fact that LCC airlines are flying to Kos until the end of October.


The beds were made daily, but there was no change of towels and no soap, no shampoo, no toothbrushes ...


There were dishes, but no bottle opener.


There were one or two mosquitoes every night. I later found out that there were similar "INSECT-REPELLENT ?" in the rooms.


I have no complaints about Pantelis Studios, but it seems that there are cheaper and better Studios.


Laundry

It seems that even long-term residents wash their clothes by hand. You may be able to ask the owner to use the washing machine 🙄 I was told later that there is a laundromat? 🙄


Restaurants at Kalymnos

mini supermarkets & Restaurants 🍖🍺

There are several mini supermarkets in Masouri, so it is possible to cook for yourself. The sauce used for pasta may not be suitable for Japanese palates?


Fresh fish and meat may not be available? If you go to the next village, you can find Super market Smalios, which sells meat. Fish?


For vegetables, I recommend the mobile grocery store that comes to Masouri.


Be aware that the water coming out of the tap in your room is "salt water". There are two places to get plain water in Masouri.


As for restaurants, Miltos, Aegean, Smugglers, etc. are recommended?


Olympic Air at the Kalymnos airport
Olympic Air at the Kalymnos airport
Airline ✈️️ Fly to Athens, then fly directly to Kalymnos

I flew from Athens to Kalymnos by plane (Olympic Air).


The airfield in Kalymnos is smaller than the one in Kos, so only small planes (36-seater) are allowed to fly there, which is vulnerable to wind. Flights to Kalymnos may be cancelled on very windy days.


The day we were returning, it was so windy that my fellow climbers invited me to go climbing, saying, "Maybe we won't fly, huh?" Fortunately, it was a northerly wind and we were able to fly with no problems.


✍🏻 The airline currently (2022) flying the Athens-Kalymnos route is Sky Express.


Kalymnos Airport ↔️ Masouri 🚕 2014

I used cab 🚕

It cost 15€ from the airport ✈️ ➡️ Masouri 🏖

It cost 20€ from Masouri🏖️ ➡️ airport ✈️


sector ODYSSEY, Kalymnos
sector ODYSSEY, Kalymnos
Impressions of Masouri

Masouri is a funky town with noisy motorcycles in the morning, but Grande Grotta and ODYSSEY are very convenient to walk there.


If you want to stay in a quiet place, it might be better to stay off the main road, on the mountain side, or a little outside the main town.


I didn't have time to visit the museum in kalymnos this time, but it is worth a visit.


It was a great climbing area that I would love to return to the island if given the chance 😍


Sunset from sector Spartacus , Kalymnos
Sunset from sector Spartacus , Kalymnos
The climbing areas I climbed in Kalymnos (2014)

This was my first time in Kalymnos. It was good 🌤 Nice atmosphere and nice view, nice route 😍


Day 4 : ODYSSEY

Day 5 : KALYDNA

Day 6 : REST 🏊🏻🏖🌊 Massouri Beach

Day 7 : SIKATI CAVE


✍🏻 List of climbing routes which I have climbed 👉🏻 Kalymnos 2014

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page