top of page
  • Writer's picturetortoise7a

Alpine trail along the ridge from Gornergrat, a truly spectacular panorama ahead with the Matterhorn

Updated: Jun 3, 2022

Alpine trail along the ridge from Gornergrat (3089m) through Hohtälli (3286m) to Stockhorn (3532m), which is not just a walk, an alpine trail.


On the map the course looks short...in fact not really 😂


But we can see the summits from a different angle and we are fascinated by the spectacle of the glaciers that unfold their folds.


The really beautiful alpine trail is a truly spectacular and breathtaking panorama ahead with the Matterhorn (4478m) 😍 The Matterhorn (4478m) is viewed to perfection from here.


View across the mountain ridge between the Gornergrat and the Hohtälli in the Swiss Alps. The top of the Matterhorn stands out on the left side of the picture.
View across the mountain ridge between the Gornergrat and the Hohtälli in the Swiss Alps.
The ridge from Gornergrat (3089m) to Stockhorn (3532m)

After leaving the Gornergrat station (3090m) and skirting the Gornergrat Kulm Hotel on the left, the path leaves the buildings and heads towards the Hohtälli (3286m) which is seen ahead. The route soon ascends to the right to easily gain the ridge of the Hohtalligrat.


Along the way, there is a path leading to the Monte Rosa hut. The ridge of the Hohtalligrat will be narrower than this path, but always straight ahead on a path that can be easily followed.


Monte Rosa Dufourspitze 4634m
Monte Rosa Dufourspitze 4634m

A good path leads to the summit of the Hohtälli (3286m, ski lift).


Further along the ridge from the cable car station on the Hohtälli (3286m) is Stockhorn (3532m), but the way beyond here stops being just a walk. Extreme caution is required.


Stockhorn, 3532m 🙄🤔
Stockhorn, 3532m 🙄🤔

When I arrived the signpost says "Stockhorn 3532m", I saw clearly that I was not on the summit... 🤔? In the distance I could see what appeared to be the summit. I think there are still 40 minutes ? to go the summit.....


I decided to abandon the trip and return to Zermatte, as I would have no transportation to my next accommodation if I continued on 😢


Riffelsee with Matterhorn reflection, 2757m
Riffelsee with Matterhorn reflection, 2757m

On the way back, I walked down Stockhorn (Stockhorn, 3532m) ➡️ Gornergrat (Gornergrat, 3089m) ➡️ Riffelsee (Riffelsee) ➡️ Zermatt (1620m) at once, but it was too hard on my knees and it was a mistake 😓


I should have at least taken the mountain railway from Riffelalp (2211m), because from Riffelalp (2211m) I have to walk through the forest and cannot see the Matterhorn (4478m).


Zermatt Hiking Map
Zermatt Hiking Map

✅ PANORAMIC MAP


Hiking maps distributed by the Zermatt Tourist Information Center. This is a simple hiking map.


✍🏻 I hope you can visit this trail in the best season, on a clear day with no wind 😉 All photos presented here were taken by myself with my iPhone while walking this trail 😊

Comments


bottom of page