top of page
  • Writer's picturetortoise7a

The first mountain hut “Rifugio” I stayed at was in the Dolomites, the birthplace of Via Ferrata ⛰🏫

The "Rifugio" I used on my first Via Ferrata to the Dolomites was more like a dormitory-style hostel. Unlike Japanese mountain huts, the "Rifugio" in Italy were comfortable, with individual beds assigned to each person.


Basically, Italian "Rifugio" seem to have the HB (Half Board) system.


What is HB (Half Board) ?

Accommodation fee

Dinner

Breakfast

are included in the HB price.


Dinner is usually two choices from the list (pasta, meat, etc.). Personally, I felt that there were two main courses. Bread, salad, and dessert are also included. Drinks are extra charge at all Rifugios.


Water from the faucet may or may not be drinkable depending on the Rifugio.


The beds have thin blankets but no sheets, so you need something like a sleeping bag cover. Of course, they seemed to sell simple sheets.


This time I went to the Rifugio without any reservation at all. But it seems that basically all guests have a reservation. There is a discount if you are an Italian Alpine member.


Rifugio Pomedes (2303m)
Rifugio Pomedes (2303m)
Rifugio Pomedes (2303m)
My first experience with Rifugio was at Rifugio Pomedes. It was like a Japanese mountain lodge. The only difference was the beds. The beds were in an irregular bunk style. You can use the shower if you pay.

My roommates, a group of Italians and a taciturn American, were also mountain lovers. We started talking about the mountains and even talked about the US presidential election (2015) 😁


This is the Rifugio with the best view of all the Rifugios I stayed at this time. So I highly recommend it.


Rifugio Dibona (2083m)
Rifugio Dibona (2083m)
Rifugio Dibona (2083m)

It was more like a dormitory style hostel. The room was bright and clean. I was told by my roommate that the water in the washroom was drinkable (or at least safe for her to drink).


The food was the best among all the Rifugio I stayed in this time (2016) 🥗🍝🍖🍺


As it seems to be a popular Rifugio, I was refused to stay on Saturday night because it was fully booked 😢


Rifugio Giussani (2600m)
Rifugio Giussani (2600m)
Rifugio Giussani (2600m)

The taste of the food is average, but not great compared to the other Rifugio. I have no complaints, but compared to other rifugios, it was disappointing.


The beds were pipe style metal frame bunk bed. I personally had no complaints. The water was not drinkable as I believe it was rainwater that was stored and used.


The owner and his wife were nice people. A taciturn American I met in Rifugio Pomedes liked them so much that he spent two nights here walking in the surrounding mountains.


Rifugio Auronzo (2330m)
Rifugio Auronzo (2330m)
Rifugio Auronzo (2330m)

The most famous Rifugio in the Dolomites ?


The facility is large and the food is cafeteria style. You line up with a tray. You can choose two of your favorite dishes while looking at the real thing.


Of course, bread and dessert are included. The calories are huge. I personally think it is enough for two people 🤣


The croissant in the morning was good, but it was very sweet with chocolate 🥐🍫


Rifugio Auronzo does not have the family atmosphere typical of mountain lodges, but it is not a hostel either. I would stay at Rifugio Auronzo again.


Rifugio Kostner (2500m)
Rifugio Kostner (2500m)
Rifugio Kostner (2500m)

The room was the nicest of all the Rifugio I stayed in, with fluffy bedding and a power outlet conveniently located near each bed.


The view is nice, but the mountains don't seem to loom over you and it might be a bit lonely.


The people staying there were friendly and the atmosphere was very nice. The water outside the building is melted snow water, but it is drinkable (at your own risk).

0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page