top of page
  • Writer's picturetortoise7a

My first visit to the "Carrière de Bergholtz" climbing area in the Southern Vosges, Alsace, France

In the Northern Vosges (Vosges du Nord), where I usually go climbing, most areas are sandstone, but in the Southern Vosges (Vosges du Sud), where I sometimes go climbing, the "Martinswand" climbing area is granite.


In particular, the Southern Vosges (Vosges du Sud) have diverse soils (sandstone, granite, limestone, etc.).


Thanks to these diverse soils, more than 90% of the wines produced in the Alsace region are white wines, and despite being mainly "mono-cépage" (wines made from a single grape variety), they offer a great variety and personality unique to Alsace wines.


The Alsace wines are made from the seven main grape varieties, Pinot Blanc, Sylvaner, Riesling, Gewürztraminer, Pinot Gris, Muscat, and Pinot Noir for red wines, and are very distinctive.


Carrière de Bergholtz
Carrière de Bergholtz

For the holiday (Ascension), I went to Carrière de Bergholtz, a climbing area in the Southern Vosges Mountains (Vosges du Sud), for the first time in many years, with a group of members who used to go rock climbing.


It was the first time for me personally to go to this climbing area.


Carrière de Bergholtz is a reddish-brown sandstone climbing area in the forest, similar in atmosphere to the climbing areas in the "Vosges du Nord", where I usually go climbing.


The number of climbing routes is about 80, a little smaller than Le Kronthal, where I usually go climbing. I guess you can enjoy climbing from 6a to 7b grade?


The climbing area is a vertical wall, so I felt that there would be a difference in preference depending on the climbing style.


Carrière de Bergholtz
Carrière de Bergholtz

Quelques minutes de plaisir (6a) FL


Rantanplan (6a+) mOS


Bingo (7b) lead-TO

I tried four times but could not compleat it.


This was my first time climbing in this area, and it had been a long time since I had rock climbing with the members gathered here, so it was a fresh and fun climbing experience. Thank you very much for the invitation.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page