top of page
  • Writer's picturetortoise7a

Multipitch climbing at Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc in the Vosges Mountains after 4 years

After a hot summer with daily temperatures exceeding 30°C, the mornings and evenings in Strasbourg are cooler, and we can now feel the brief signs of autumn.


The summer of 2022 is probably the hottest summer since I came to France đŸ€”


Perhaps due to this heat, I could hardly go rock climbing in this summer.


Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc
Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc

On a sunny weekend when the weather finally cooled off and my climbing buddies were back from vacation, I went to climb Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc, one of the most popular multi-pitch climbing areas in the Vosges Mountains (Massif des Vosges), for the first time in four years.


Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc has about 15 multi-pitch climbing routes and 15 single-pitch routes. The multi-pitch routes can be combined with various routes, so there is a lot of variety.


Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc
Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc
les larmes de printemps (L1:4b)-(L2: Nouchy, 6a+)-(L3:6c) m.lead-TO

I had already climbed les larmes de printemps last time I was here, but this time I climbed Nouchy (6a+) instead of the original route (L2). I was afraid of the tension in the middle part of the route. les larmes de printemps (L3:6c) was as bad as the last time, but I couldn't stick to it. I should have traversed to the right side after climbing straight up a little more.


Frantispice (L1,6b+)-(L2,6b+) m.lead

This is the first time to try this route. The original route is up to (L3,5a), but we did not climb (L3,5a) due to time constraints. (L1,6b+) is powerful with a slight steep wall. (L2,6b+) has a traverse at its core. It is an interesting route with a lot of variety.


I lead climbed all pitches of both routes but could not finish them. It seems I still don't have the mentality to endure granite 😅


âœđŸ» View from Rocher Hans du Lac Blanc


Comments


bottom of page